Best Doctoral Thesis


  • Open to a doctoral thesis on Lagos completed in any university in the world. Degree must be awarded in 2017
  • Nomination must include a 1000-word narrative on the significant contribution of the thesis to Lagos studies. It must also highlight methodological and theoretical innovation or uniqueness
  • The award will be officially presented to the winner at the 3rd Lagos conference, June 21-23, 2018
  • The award comes with a plaque and N50,000 ($150.00)
  • The LSA would guide the recipient of this award in revising her or his thesis into a publishable book or/and journal manuscripts

—– Applications for these awards will be evaluated by the LSA Awards Committee: Lanre Davies (Olabisi Onabanjo University, Nigeria); Mfon Ekpootu (University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria); Tosin Gbogi (Tulane University, USA); Simon Heap (Oxford Brookes University, UK); David Hurlbut (Boston University, USA); and Lynn Schler (Ben Gurion University, Israel).